The village of Münster is mentioned for the first time around 1221 under the name Musterium. The later common name Monasterium refers to a monastery. In addition, the village was also called "Comes" or "Conches", both of which mean valley hollow. Münster lies on the western flank of a large debris fan and at the same time at the exit of the Münstiger valley.
There is a red information pillar in front of the office of Obergoms Tourismus AG in Münster. It serves as the starting point for the culture trail. Free brochures for the autodidactic village tour are available in a compartment. They contain historical background information and information about the buildings and structures on the tour.
The Münster + Geschinen cultural trails were initiated by the association Kulturlandschaft Münster-Geschinen. Since its founding in 2006, it has been promoting the rich cultural heritage of the Upper Pomeranian villages of Münster and Geschinen. The association relies on numerous locals as well as many guests of our region. More than 100 members support the activities of the association.