Shop

Station Ritz in Niederwald.

A tribute to Caesar Ritz.

Next stop Station Ritz in the train station Niederwald

Get to know the great hotelier Cäsar Ritz and discover art and culture around Niederwald. In winter and summer the station is an ideal starting and ending point for your leisure tour with dressing rooms, lockers and showers. A few years ago the Obergoms Tourismus AG, the Binntal Nature Park and the municipality of Goms founded the Niederwald Visitor Center Association. With the help of donations, the reconstruction could be realized and the Station Ritz could be opened at the end of 2019, which houses two exhibitions as well as a bistro, an infopoint and dressing rooms.

The Station Ritz remains temporarily closed.

Between Genius and Delusion: Caesar Ritz (1850-1918)

Musical reading

How the play came about...
For years we spent our summer holidays with my parents-in-law in Niederwald. My husband and our daughter helped with the haymaking. Since I was rather untalented for agricultural work and already suffered from hay fever at that time, I read a lot. When at some point I ran out of the reading material I had brought with me, I read everything I could get my hands on in my in-laws' household. In the process, the slim book with the title "Cäsar Ritz - Ein Leben für den Gast" (Caesar Ritz - A Life for the Guest) by Werner Kämpfen aroused my interest, because Alban (my husband) already told me a lot about the incredible career of this successful Niederwalder, but mainly stories about Madame Ritz, whom he himself had still known and experienced. After reading this book, it was clear to me that this material would interest and touch many people. I spent a long time trying to find a form for it and came to the conclusion that only a film would do justice to this story. But that was out of my league, because I had neither the financial means nor the necessary networks. So in 2004 I suggested to Swiss television that they make a film about Caesar Ritz's biography. BETWEEN GENIUS AND DELUSION: CÄSAR RITZ (1850-1918) Musical Reading When our daughter Karin (actress) married her husband Frank Demenga (actor and author) and I saw that he had already written many readings under the title "Genius and Madness" on various great personalities from literature, music and painting, I asked whether this series could also be opened. With his agreement, I set to work to realise my heart's desire after all. Marlène Wirthner-Durrer

Date: Saturday 11 June 2022
Time: 6 p.m. (admission from 5.30 p.m.), followed by a visit to the exhibition "Caesar & Marie-Louise Ritz".
Place: Station Ritz Niederwald
Ticket prices: Association members CHF 30.00 / third parties CHF 35.00 per person. Children up to 12 years free of charge. Free choice of seats
Reservations: verein@stationritz.ch or +41 27 974 68 68 
 

 

Permanent exhibition Cäsar Ritz

Cäsar Ritz was one of the most famous personalities of the Valais. Born in Niederwald in Goms in 1850, he went to Paris at a young age and achieved world fame as a hotelier. By visiting the exhibition at the Station Ritz, you will learn more about his life and work, which was marked by genius and tragedy in equal measure.

 

Temporary exhibition

Here you can expect annually changing art and culture around Niederwald and the Goms. In 2021, you can discover the artistic work of Willi Dreesen, who has immortalized the picturesque corners of the village of Niederwald in drawings.

 

© Carmen Jossen Moser

Station Bistro

The station bistro with the charm of a historic station buffet is definitely worth a visit to enjoy and relax. Small dishes and cold and warm drinks are welcome breaks while hiking, cross-country skiing or visiting the exhibitions. In addition, you can learn everything worth knowing about the Goms at the info point.

 

As a starting point for tours

The Station Ritz at the Niederwald train station is an ideal starting point for tours of all kinds and offers wardrobes, showers and changing rooms. The Station Ritz is located directly at the bike route no. 1 and can offer you a variety of hikes with the tour in the village, the Cäsar Ritz Weg and the access possibility to the Gommer Höhenweg. In winter you can explore the cross-country skiing paradise Goms from the Station Ritz. Cross-country skiing tickets can be bought in the bistro.

 

For more information on bookings and reservations, please visit: stationritz.ch

 

Questions and answers

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Réserver

Station Ritz à la gare de Niederwald.

Un hommage à César Ritz.

Prochain arrêt : station Ritz à la gare de Niederwald

Faites connaissance avec le grand hôtelier César Ritz et découvrez l'art et la culture autour de Niederwald. En hiver comme en été, la gare est un point de départ et d'arrivée idéal pour votre excursion de loisirs, avec vestiaires, casiers et douches. Il y a quelques années, Obergoms Tourismus AG, le parc paysager de la vallée de Binn et la municipalité Goms ont fondé l'association des centres de visiteurs de Niederwald. Grâce à des dons, la reconstruction a été réalisée et la station Ritz a été inaugurée fin 2019, qui, outre deux expositions, abrite également un bistrot, un infopoint et des vestiaires.

La station Ritz reste temporairement fermée.

Entre génie et folie : César Ritz (1850-1918)

Lecture musicale

Comment est née la pièce...
Pendant des années, nous avons passé nos vacances d'été chez mes beaux-parents à Niederwald. Mon mari et notre fille aidaient à faire les foins. Comme j'étais assez peu douée pour les travaux agricoles et que je souffrais déjà à l'époque du rhume des foins, je lisais beaucoup. Lorsque je n'ai plus eu de quoi lire, j'ai lu tout ce qui me tombait sous la main dans la maison de mes beaux-parents. C'est alors que le petit livre de Werner Kämpfen intitulé "Cäsar Ritz - Ein Leben für den Gast" (César Ritz - une vie pour l'hôte) a éveillé mon intérêt, car Alban (mon mari) me racontait déjà beaucoup de choses sur l'incroyable carrière de ce Niederwalder à succès, mais surtout des histoires sur Madame Ritz qu'il avait lui-même connues et vécues. Après la lecture de ce livre, j'ai compris que ce sujet intéresserait et toucherait de nombreuses personnes. J'ai passé beaucoup de temps à chercher une forme et j'en suis arrivé à la conclusion que seul un film rendrait justice à cette histoire. Mais c'était un peu trop gros pour moi, car je n'avais ni les moyens financiers ni les réseaux nécessaires. En 2004, j'ai donc proposé à la télévision suisse de traiter médiatiquement la biographie de César Ritz. ENTRE GÉNIE ET FOLIE : CÉSAR RITZ (1850-1918) Lecture musicale Lorsque notre fille Karin (actrice) a épousé son mari Frank Demenga (acteur et auteur) et que j'ai vu que ce dernier avait déjà écrit de nombreuses lectures sur différentes grandes personnalités de la littérature, de la musique et de la peinture sous le titre "Genie und Wahn", j'ai demandé s'il était possible d'ouvrir cette série. Avec son accord, je me suis mise au travail pour réaliser mon souhait le plus cher. Marlène Wirthner-Durrer

Date : samedi 11 juin 2022
Heure : 18h00 (entrée à partir de 17h30), possibilité de visiter ensuite l'exposition "César & Marie-Louise Ritz".
Lieu : Station Ritz Niederwald
Prix des billets : Membres de l'association CHF 30.00 / tiers CHF 35.00 par personne. Gratuit pour les enfants jusqu'à 12 ans. Libre choix des places.
Réservations : verein@stationritz.ch ou +41 27 974 68 68 
 

 

Exposition permanente César Ritz

César Ritz était l'une des personnalités les plus célèbres du Valais. Né à Niederwald dans la vallée de Conches en 1850, il se rend à Paris dès son plus jeune âge et acquiert une réputation mondiale en tant qu'hôtelier. En visitant l'exposition à la gare de Niederwald, vous en apprendrez plus sur son œuvre et sa vie qui ont été marquées par le génie et la tragédie dans une même mesure.

 

Exposition temporaire

Ici, vous pouvez trouver l'art et la culture changeant chaque année autour de Niederwald et de la vallée de Conches. En 2021, vous pourrez découvrir l'œuvre artistique de Willi Dreesen qui a illustré en dessins les coins pittoresques du village de Niederwald.

 

© Carmen Jossen Moser

Bistro de la gare Ritz

Pour déguster et vous attarder le bistrot de la gare, avec le charme d'un buffet de gare historique, vaut vraiment une visite. Les petits plats et les boissons chaudes et froides sont des pauses bienvenues lors des randonnées, du ski de fond ou de la visite des expositions. En outre, le point d'information vous permet de découvrir tout ce que vous devez savoir sur la vallée de Conches.

 

Point de départ pour les excursions.

La station Ritz de la gare de Niederwald est un point de départ idéal pour toutes sortes d'excursions et propose des vestiaires, des douches et des toilettes. La station est située directement sur la piste cyclable n° 1 et vous offre une grande variété de randonnées avec le tour du village, le sentier César Ritz et l'option d'accès à la haute route de la vallée de Conches. En hiver, vous pouvez découvrir le paradis du ski de fond de la vallée de Conches depuis la gare Ritz. Des tickets de ski de fond peuvent être achetés au bistro sur place.

 

Pour plus d'informations sur les réservations, veuillez consulter le site : stationritz.ch

 

 

Questions et réponses

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.