Shop

Gommer Höhenweg: Oberwald - Bellwald

  • difficult
  • 28,31 km
  • 9 hours 35 minutes
  • 1129 m
  • 1789 m
  • 1364 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 100 / 100
  • start: Oberwald, train station
  • destination: Bellwald, cable car station

Discover the Goms from its most beautiful side. The Gommer Höhenweg promises the highest level of hiking enjoyment on excellent and well-marked paths. It leads over 28 km through fragrant larch forests and across wide alpine meadows. The mighty three- and four-thousand-metre peaks of the Valais Alps frame the horizon, while the mighty pyramid of the Weisshorn (4505 m) towers in the middle.

The trail can be divided into two hiking days. The recommended stages are Oberwald - Münster and Münster - Bellwald, each lasting 4 to 4.5 hours. Access is, however, possible from all Goms mountain villages within 20-30 minutes. Thanks to the Matterhorn Gotthard Railway, which stops at each village, a wide variety of tours are possible.

A large part of the forests in the young Rhone Valley are protective forests, which protect the villages with their sun-burned houses from avalanches, rock falls and landslides. Above Ritzingen, an audio theme trail explains the functions of the protection forest and the work of local foresters.

Pavings

  • Asphalt Coating (1%)
  • Street (2%)
  • Hiking Trail (87%)
  • Crushed Rock (11%)

Weather

Good to know

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Shop

Gommer Höhenweg: Oberwald - Bellwald

  • schwer
  • 28,31 km
  • 9 Std. 35 Min.
  • 1129 m
  • 1789 m
  • 1364 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 100 / 100
  • Start: Oberwald, Bahnhof
  • Ziel: Bellwald, Seilbahn

Endecken Sie das Goms von seiner schönsten Seite. Der Gommer Höhenweg verspricht höchsten Wandergenuss auf ausgezeichneten und gut markierten Pfaden. Er führt auf über 28 km durch duftende Lärchenwälder und über weite Alpweiden. Die mächtigen Drei- und Viertausender der Walliser Alpen umrahmen den Horizont indessen Mitte die mächtige Pyramide des Weisshorns (4505 m) thront. 

Der Weg lässt sich wunderbar auf zwei Wandertage aufteilen. Empfohlen sind dabei die Etappen Oberwald - Münster und Münster - Bellwald zu je 4 bis 4.5 Stunden. Der Zugang ist jedoch von allen Obergommer Bergdörfern innert 20-30 Minuten möglich. Dank der Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn, welche bei jeder Ortschaft Halt macht, sind abwechslungsreiche Tourenvarianten möglich.

Ein Grossteil der Wälder im jungen Rhonetal sind Schutzwälder, welche die Dörfer mit ihren sonnengebrannten Häusern vor Lawinen, Steinschlägen und Erdrutschen schützen. Oberhalb von Ritzingen erklärt ein Audio-Themenweg die Funktionen des Schutzwalds und die Arbeit der lokalen Förster.

Wegbeläge

  • Asphalt (1%)
  • Straße (2%)
  • Wanderweg (87%)
  • Schotter (11%)

Wetter

Gut zu wissen

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.