Shop

Grimseltunnel.

A plus for the Goms.

An innovative, future-oriented project

The idea of a rail tunnel on the Grimsel turned into a concrete project a few years ago. This involves the construction of a 22-kilometer tunnel from Oberwald to Innertkirchen. This would close the gap in the narrow-gauge rail network and connect the Zentralbahn with the Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn. In addition, the renewal and expansion of the Swissgrid high-voltage line over the Grimsel is imminent. For these two reasons, there is an opportunity to combine both infrastructures in a joint tunnel facility and to exploit synergies.

22 kilometer

long tunnel

850 kilometer

rail network spanning the entire Swiss Alpine region

718 meters of altitude

overcome by the Grimseltunnel from Innertkirchen to Oberwald

2,5 Hours

less travel time between Meiringen and Oberwald

121 power poles

are dismantled

7 years

estimated construction time

600 Millions CHF

estimated investment costs

1000 tons of CO²

can be saved approximately annually

A tunnel from Oberwald to Innertkirchen

Which way through?

The rail line through the Grimsel Tunnel connects Meiringen (BE) and Oberwald (VS). The new line is planned as a single track. It starts from Innertkirchen and leads to the Guttannen stop (laterally open gallery). The tunnel then continues to the underground Handeck stop, which is about 30 meters below ground, and then on to Oberwald station. Over a length of 21,8 km, the Grimseltunnel overcomes 718 meters in altitude. On the stretch from Meiringen and Oberwald, only 0,9 km have to be newly built in the open countryside, the rest is led underground.

 

Significance and advantages for tourism

The merger opens up great potential

The Grimsel Railway sets new perspectives for the development of the central Alpine region. The tunnel connects the Goms with the Bernese Oberland and shortens the travel time between Meiringen and Oberwald by 2,5 hours. This will create attractive and sustainable tourism offers: Excursion and travel destinations are quickly accessible all year round and guests travel comfortably with organized luggage transport to the cross-country skiing, hiking and cycling paradise of Goms. The railroad connection Montreux - Bernese Oberland - Goms - Zermatt - St. Moritz could save about 4 million car kilometers and about 1'000 tons of CO2 per year. In addition, working in Goms and living in the Bernese Oberland or vice versa would become interesting. The Grimseltunnel is a huge plus for the mountain population and sustainable tourism.

 

The current report from the Tagesanzeiger (24 October 2022) can be found here: Railway project between Bern and Valais

 

Rail & Electricity combined

A real innovation

Infrastructures take up space and in some cases interfere with the landscape. The power pylons block the view of the Alps and are highly endangered by avalanches in winter. The Grimsel Tunnel will restore the view of the Alps by removing 121 power pylons. Such a multifunctional tunnel with rail and cable line of the top grid level, and this over a long distance, is a first time for Switzerland.

 

Timeline

Here you can find the schedule of the Grimseltunnel project. This is updated continuously.

Publications

  • Publication in the Federal Gazette, Official Gazette Bern and Valais
  • Feedback of the municipality to the Department for Spatial Development / Statement of the municipality
  • Transmission of the report of the participation and hearing procedure in the canton VS to the SFOE

Confession Parliament

In order for cabling to be possible in a common tunnel, parliament must commit to the Grimseltunnel in 2023.

 

Milestone I

Construction start Grimseltunnel

 

Milestone II

Opening Grimseltunnel

 

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Shop

Grimseltunnel.

Ein Plus für das Goms.

Ein innovatives, zukunftsweisendes Projekt

Aus der Idee eines Bahntunnels an der Grimsel wurde vor einigen Jahren ein konkretes Projekt. Dieses umfasst den Bau eines 22 Kilometer langen Tunnels von Oberwald nach Innertkirchen. Dieser würde die Lücke im Schmalspur-Bahnnetz schliessen und die Zentralbahn mit der Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn verbinden. Ausserdem stehen die Erneuerung und der Ausbau der Hochspannungsleitung der Swissgrid über die Grimsel bevor. Aus diesen beiden Gründen bietet sich die Chance, beide Infrastrukturen in einer gemeinsamen Tunnel-Anlage zusammenzulegen und Synergien zu nutzen.

 

22 Kilometer

langer Tunnel

850 Kilometer

langes Bahnnetz, welches den gesamten Schweizer Alpenraum überspannt

718 Höhenmeter

überwindet der Grimseltunnel von Innertkirchen nach Oberwald

2,5 Stunden

weniger Reisezeit zwischen Meiringen und Oberwald

121 Strommasten

werden abgebaut

7 Jahre

voraussichtliche Bauzeit

600 Millionen CHF

geschätzte Investitionskosten

1000 Tonnen CO2

können in etwa jährlich eingespart werden

Ein Tunnel von Oberwald nach Innertkirchen

Wo geht’s durch?

Die Bahnstrecke durch den Grimseltunnel verbindet Meiringen (BE) und Oberwald (VS). Die Neubaustrecke ist einspurig geplant. Sie beginnt ab Innertkirchen und führt zur Haltestelle Guttannen (seitlich offene Galerie). Anschliessend geht der Tunnel weiter bis zur unterirdischen Haltestelle Handeck, welche ca. 30 Meter tief liegt, danach weiter bis zum Bahnhof Oberwald. Auf einer Länge von 21,8 km überwindet der Grimseltunnel 718 Höhenmeter. Auf der Strecke von Meiringen und Oberwald müssen nur 0,9 km im freien Gelände neu gebaut werden, der Rest wird  unterirdisch geführt.

Bedeutung und Vorteile für den Tourismus

Der Zusammenschluss eröffnet grosses Potential

Die Grimselbahn setzt neue Perspektiven für die Entwicklung des zentralen Alpenraumes. Der Tunnel verbindet das Goms mit dem Berner Oberland und verkürzt die Reisezeit zwischen Meiringen und Oberwald um 2,5 Stunden. Dadurch entstehen attraktive und nachhaltige Tourismusangebote: Die Ausflugs- und Reiseziele sind rasch und ganzjährig erreichbar und Gäste reisen bequem mit organisiertem Gepäcktransport ins Langlauf-, Wander-, und Veloparadies Goms. Mit der Bahnverbindung Montreux – Berner Oberland – Goms – Zermatt – St. Moritz könnten jährlich rund 4 Mio. Autokilometer und rund 1'000 Tonnen CO2 eingespart werden. Ausserdem wird das Arbeiten im Goms und Wohnen im Berner Oberland oder umgekehrt interessant. Der Grimseltunnel ist ein riesiges Plus für die Bergbevölkerung und einen nachhaltigen Tourismus.

Bahn und Strom kombiniert

Eine echte Innovation

Infrastrukturen beanspruchen Platz und beeinträchtigen zum Teil die Landschaft. Die Strommasten versperren die Sicht auf die Alpen und sind im Winter durch Lawinen stark gefährdet. Durch den Grimseltunnel gibt es wieder freie Sicht auf die Alpen, da 121 Strommasten abgebaut werden. Ein solcher multifunktionaler Tunnel mit Bahn und Kabelleitung der obersten Netzebene, und dies über eine lange Distanz, ist für die Schweiz eine Premiere.

Zeitplan

Hier findest du den Zeitplan des Projekts Grimseltunnel. Dieser wird laufend aktualisiert.

Publikationen

  • Publikation im Bundesblatt, Amtsblatt Bern und Wallis
  • Rückmeldung der Gemeinde an die Dienststelle für Raumentwicklung DRE / Stellungnahme der Gemeinde
  • Übermittlung des Berichts des Mitwirkung- und Anhörungsverfahren im Kanton VS an das BFE

Bekennung Parlament

Damit eine Verkabelung in einem gemeinsamen Tunnel möglich wird, muss sich das Parlament 2023 zum Grimseltunnel bekennen.

Meilenstein I

Baustart Grimseltunnel

Meilenstein II

Eröffnung Grimseltunnel

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.