The church is built in neo-Gothic style. The architect was Joseph de Kalbermatten from Sitten, the master builder was Baptist Bottini from Brig. The stonework was done by Thomas Brunz from Bosco Gurin. High altar: The painting of St. Nicholas was made by the painter J. Bolzern in Rome by Colonel Louis von Courten together with the Ulrich guardsmen and then blessed by Pope Leo XIII. In the side aedicules there is St. Chistophorus on the left and St. Mauritius on the right. The statues were probably made by the master of the altar of the chapel of St. Anne to the Hole.Side altars: The neo-Gothic altars date from 1882 and were made by Augustin Müller. The right side altar is dedicated to St. Joseph and the left one to Mary of Perpetual Help. The two ornamental gilded altarpieces as iconic half-figure portraits come from Rome. In front of the damascened wall, the side altars look very valuable. Paintings: In 1921 Josef Heimgartner decorated the church with paintings. The nave vault is painted with angels playing music. On the choir arch are depicted the Holy Trinity adored on the left by St. Nicholas above the village of Ulrichen and on the right by St. Ulrich above the battlefield of Ulrichen. On the choir walls there are symbolistic Art Nouveau paintings, on the left the brazen serpent and the oil palm as a symbol of the righteous, on the right the tree of knowledge.